School’s Out Camp in Durham NC

School’s Out Camp: Grades K-5

Preschool School’s Out Camp:  Age 3-5 (must be potty-trained)

Quick links:

Registration, Hours, and Costs
Dates
Snow Day Camps
Special Needs Inclusion
What to Bring/Wear
Policies

Questions? Contact us at camp@levinjcc.org or 919-354-4948

Registration, Hours, and Costs

School’s out, J’s in! Come on over for exciting days of fun and friends at our School’s Out camps! Activities may include sports, games, crafts, cooking, playground time, aerial silks, nature, and more. Preschoolers have a rest/nap time after lunch.  (Preschool camp on selected dates. Must be potty trained.)

Register now!
You will fill out a health form as part of registration.  $20 per day deposit is due at time of registration, and balance will be charged the day of the camp.  Please contact us about payment plans.

Waitlists:  You will not be charged to be placed on a waitlist, and we can often add more spaces as staffing allows. We will contact you if space becomes available!

Camp: 8:30am – 3:30 pm
Cost: Member $48/day; Guest $60/day

Extended Care: 8:00-8:30am and 3:30-5:30pm
Cost: Member $12/day; Guest $15/day

School’s Out Camp Dates – 2019-2020

  • DPS – Durham Public Schools – Traditional Schedule
  • DPS-YR – Durham Public Schools – Year Round
  • CHCCS – Chapel Hill Carrboro City Schools
  • L – Lerner School

Mon Sept 23-Fri 27 – DPS-YR (no preschool)
Mon-Tues Oct 14-15 – L
Fri Oct 18 – L
Mon-Tues Oct 21-22 – L
Mon Nov 11 – DPS, DPS-YR, CHCCS  (no preschool)
Weds Nov 27  – DPS, DPS-YR, CHCCS, L
Mon Dec 2 – L
Mon Dec 23 – DPS, DPS-YR, CHCCS, L
Thurs-Fri Dec 26-27  – DPS, DPS-YR, CHCCS, L
Mon Dec 30  – DPS, DPS-YR, CHCCS, L

Thurs-Fri Jan 2-3  – DPS, DPS-YR, CHCCS
Mon-Tues Jan 6-7 – DPS-YR (no preschool)
Fri Jan 17 – L
Mon Jan 20  – DPS, DPS-YR, CHCCS  (no preschool)
Tues Jan 21  – DPS, DPS-YR  (no preschool)
Weds Jan 22 – DPS  (no preschool)
Fri Jan 31 – L
Weds Feb 12 – DPS, DPS-YR  (no preschool)
Mon Feb 17 – CHCCS, L
Fri Mar 13 – CHCCS, L
Mon-Tues Apr 6-7 – DPS-YR, CHCCS  (no preschool)
Weds-Thurs Apr 8-9  – DPS-YR, CHCCS, L  (no aftercare Weds Apr 8)
Fri Apr 10  – DPS, DPS-YR, CHCCS, L
Mon Apr 13 – DPS, CHCCS, L
Tues-Fri Apr 14-17 – DPS, L

Snow Day Camps

When schools are closed for inclement weather, but the roads are safe and the JCC is open, we may open a Snow Day Camp.  Hours will depend on when the building can open safely, and cost depends on hours. Please be aware that there is no guarantee we will be able to offer camp every time schools are closed.

As soon as we know we are offering a camp (evening before or morning of) we will send an email to the JCC email list and post on our Facebook page with a link to registration.  Space fills very quickly!

Inclusion

Unfortunately, due to staffing constraints, space is very limited for inclusion support at School’s Out Camp.  If your camper has an IEP, behavior plan, or otherwise needs inclusion support, please contact camp@levinjcc.org to inquire about capacity before registering.  Click here for general information on our Inclusion Program.

What to bring/wear

Campers

  • Lunch and 2 snacks following our kashrut guidelines (found in the Family Handbook)–anyone staying for aftercare will want to bring an additional snack.
  • Water bottle
  • Closed-toed shoes
  • Layers for outdoor time
  • Preschoolers: change of clothes (required!) and nap items (optional)
  • You will receive an email the week before a camp with any other important information.

Waitlist and cancellation policies

  • If camp is full, you may be placed on a waitlist at no charge.  We will contact you to let you know if a space is available, and you will have a window of time in which to register before we move to the next person on the waitlist.  You do not need to contact us to check if a space has opened.
  • Advanced notice of at least 5 business days required for refunds.  Unfortunately, we are not able to offer refunds for missed days due to illness.
  • Click here for our Family Handbook and Behavior Agreement for full policies and procedures.